SIAS Thematic Research Clusters

The thematic research clusters aim to improve the SIAS research environment and increase the impact of research beyond academia.  In particular, their goals are:

  • to collaborate at the leading edge of social sciences on areas and regions:
  • to make research accessible to a wide audience, and  involving policy makers, professionals, businesses and general public (civil society) in their work;
  • to foster interdisciplinary, international and inter-sectoral collaborations to increase the impact of SIAS research.

Economic Growth, Industry and Development

Members: Hugh Whittaker, Diego Sanchez-Ancochea, Matthew McCartney, Kyle Jaros

Nationalism, Military, Security and Foreign Policy

Members: Paul Irwin Crookes, Miles Larmer, Philip Robins, Roy Allison, and Kate Sullivan de Estrada, Ceren Lord, Hiroko Miyokawa

Police, Drugs and Criminality

Members: Philip Robins, Barbara Harriss-White and Jonny Steinberg

Poverty, Inequality and Informality

Members: Barbara Harriss-White, George Kunnath, David Doyle, Diego Sanchez-Ancochea, and Nicolette Makovicky

Family, Education and Social Policy

Members: Diego Sanchez-Ancochea, Roger Goodman, George Kunnath, Ekaterina Hertog, Rachel Murphy, Miriam Driessen, Anna Lora-Wainwright, Takehiko Kariya, and Dan Healey


Members: Anna Lora-Wainwright; Sho Konishi; Jonny Steinberg; Dan Healey, Jennifer Holdway, and Janey Messina
















The thematic research clusters are organising a round of thematic workshops aimed to identify novel, interdisciplinary, international, and inter-sectoral collaborations.

If you are interested to get involved in our next round on Thematic workshops that will take place, please send to the Research Grants Officer your references and the Cluster of your interest.