Dr Timothy Power and Dr Mariana Llanos on New Directions in Comparative Presidentialism

Dr Timothy Power and Dr Mariana Llanos (German Institute of Global and Area Studies, Hamburg) co-directed a workshop on “New Directions in Comparative Presidentialism”.

The workshop ran from 11-15 March 2013 at the 41st ECPR Joint Sessions of Workshops, Johannes Gutenberg Universität, Mainz, Germany.

Dr Power and Dr Svitlana Chernykh presented a co-authored paper using early CPP data on how Chilean, Ecuadorean and Brazilian legislators perceive the practice of coalitional presidentialism.

Pictured (left to right) are workshop participants Marcelo Camerlo (ICS Lisbon), Magna Inácio (UFMG), Oleh Protsyk (University of Flensburg and CPP Advisory Board member), Ana Craveiro (ICS Lisbon), Svitlana Chernykh, Timothy Power, Mariana Llanos, Cecilia Martínez-Gallardo (UNC Chapel Hill), John Ishiyama (University of North Texas and lead editor, American Political Science Review), Lucio Rennó (University of Brasília), Jack Blumenau (LSE, winner of the ECPR Wildenmann Prize for an outstanding paper presented at the 2012 Joint Workshops), Michael Widmeier (University of North Texas), Andréa Freitas (University of São Paulo), Koichi Kawamura (Institute of Developing Economies, Japan), David Doyle (Dublin City University), and Petra Schleiter (University of Oxford).